Based and located in Gjøvik, in the Innlandet region in Norway, MOONSCAPE is a progressive metal project formed by Håvard Lunde in late February 2015, as he started working on what was to become MOONSCAPE's debut album "Entity", released in the fall of 2017. The forty minute single track album format was very much inspired by EDGE OF SANITY's 1996 classic "Crimson", and Lunde saw it as a great opportunity to fully express himself musically and lyrically within the framework of a large scale composition.

With great help from highly talented guest singers who performed their parts as different characters in the story, as well as incredibly talented guest musicians who provided lead guitars, keyboard solos and other instrumental additions to the recording, Lunde created an album that was both personal and conceptual, a record that received great feedback from reviewers and listeners around Europe and the US.

Just before the release of "Entity" in October 2017, Lunde began writing a follow up album. Productionwise, he wanted a more direct approach, as the debut was rather atmospheric and lush in its sound, and decided he wanted to mix the album himself. The album took about three years to finish, and featured guest appearances from David Åkesson (Qantice), Pauli Souka (Coldbound), Drake Chrisdensen (Ruins of Elysium) and many more. A single was released in January 2020, entitled "The Throes of Desperation", and served as an early teaser from what was to come.

In the midst of it all, the COVID-19 pandemic broke out, and Lunde felt the need to express certain thoughts through an acoustic track entitled "Here With You", which was released in May 2020. 

A four track EP entitled "Resurgence E.P." was released in September 2020, and provided another preview from the upcoming album in the form of an edit from the opening track, entitled "Resurgence/This Withering Soul". In addition there were two cover songs (Alexander Rybak's 2009 ESC winning track "Fairytale", and a cover of DOMINE's "Thunderstorm", from the 1999 album "Dragonlord (Tales of the Noble Steel)", plus a remastered version of "Here With You". 

"Entity, Chapter II: Echoes from a Cognitive Dystopia" was released on November 23rd 2020, and received very favorable reviews. 

In early December 2021 a remastered edition of the "Entity" album was reissued on strictly limited runs on both CD and vinyl.

In early November 2022 the two track single "If Heaven Knows my Name", was announced, serving as a teaser from the upcoming album, due for release in early 2023. The second track was an alternate version of another track from the new album, entitled "A Rendezvous in Time?".